of the page as possible. -->
In Rhythm: Lindsay Ell Readies New Concept Album, “Heart Theory,” on Aug. 14


In Rhythm: Lindsay Ell Readies New Concept Album, “Heart Theory,” on Aug. 14

Lindsay Ell will release her new concept album, heart theory, on Aug. 14.

Produced by Dann Huff, heart theory is comprised of 12 tracks that journey through each stage of grief: shock, denial, anger, bargaining, depression, testing and acceptance. The album title and song titles have been stylized in lowercase.

Lindsay co-penned 11 tracks on the new project with a host of top songwriters, including Brandy Clark, Laura Veltz, Jessie Jo Dillon, Nicole Gaylon and more. The album’s lead single, “wAnt me back,” was penned by Lindsay, Kane Brown, Matt McGinn and Lindsay Rimes.

“If theory is the science of music, heart theory is the science of a heart,” says Lindsay. “I hope this roadmap can be a comfort if you need it, reassurance when you need to remember to believe in yourself or maybe just a glimpse into a memory that’s made you who you are.”

In July, Lindsay revealed she is a survivor of sexual assault. With the release of the upcoming album’s “make you,” Lindsay publicly addressed—for the first time—being a survivor of sexual violence. The deeply personal song explores her life after being raped as a 13-year-old. Penned by Lindsay and Brandy Clark, “make you” is the first song in the acceptance stage, a reflection of Lindsay’s determination to use her platform to help other sexual trauma survivors.

In conjunction with the release of “make you,” Lindsay launched the Make You Movement, a charitable fund that endeavors “to help organizations that support at-risk youth, domestic abuse and sexual assault survivors by providing funds on an as-needed basis.” Lindsay is donating proceeds from “make you” to the Make You Movement.

The upcoming album follows the release of Lindsay’s major-label debut album, The Project, in 2017. In 2018, Lindsay released The Continuum Project, a track-by-track cover of John Mayer’s Continuum.

Beginning at 11 p.m. CT on Aug. 13, Lindsay will go live on her Instagram for 24 hours through release day on Aug. 14. The livestream will include special guests, performances and more surprises in celebration of the release of heart theory. The current ACM New Female Artist of the Year nominee will perform “wAnt me back” on the Today show on Aug. 17 during the 10 a.m. hour from Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium.

Listen to the new album’s “ReadY to love” below.

heart theory Track List & Songwriters
1. “Hits me” (Lindsay Ell, Tyler Hubbard, Corey Crowder)
2. “how good” (Lindsay Ell, Brandy Clark)
3. “i don’t lovE you” (Adam Hambrick, Melissa Fuller, Neil Medley)
4. “wAnt me back” (Lindsay Ell, Kane Brown, Matt McGinn, Lindsay Rimes)
5. “get oveR you” (Lindsay Ell, Gordie Sampson, Kelly Archer)
6. “wrong girl” (Lindsay Ell, Steph Jones, Matt McGinn, Luke Niccoli)
7. “body language of a breakup” (Lindsay Ell, Laura Veltz, Sam Ellis)
8. “good on you” (Lindsay Ell, Sam Ellis, Micah Premnath)
9. “The oTHEr side” (Lindsay Ell, Jessie Jo Dillon, Matt McGinn)
10. “gO to” (Lindsay Ell, Nicolle Gaylon, Jordan Reynolds)
11. “make you” (Lindsay Ell, Brandy Clark)
12. “ReadY to love” (Lindsay Ell, Jessie Jo Dillon, Matt McGinn, Joey Hyde)

photo by TCD

There is no custom code to display.